share on:

Bobby Bergeron, marketing coordinator for Gamache Group, has been immersed in the truck industry since he was 14 years old.

Nostalgic for his wonderful years working in the North, Bobby kindly agreed to have a little chat with us. Bobby—a veteran of off-road driving—shares his memories and introduces us to the world of heavy trucks.

You know just about everything there is to know about the trucking industry . . . What made you want to become a truck driver?

I think that, like all kids, seeing big trucks made me dream. And I had the fortune of becoming familiar with them at a very young age. When I was 11, my mother’s boyfriend worked with heavy equipment in the forest. Other kids were playing with Tonkas, but I saw them up close in real life and got to ride in them! I grew up watching trucks pick up timber. It wasn’t long before I was driving them and working in them! I drove off-road transporting timber in the forest.

camion transportant du bois  Bobby CHARGEMENT STANDARD 1

When you start so young, how do the other drivers react?

You’re a bit like the mascot. The truckers thought it was funny. At first, you do a lot of small jobs, maintenance and light mechanical work such as oil changes. You have no choice but to learn on the job, and then, gradually, you are given more responsibility. I carried gravel and, at 18, I started on the road.

What is a trucker’s biggest challenge?

It depends on the sector you work in. Food transportation in California, for example, is not my style. In my sector, forest roads are completely different from asphalt roads and are much more difficult. The biggest challenge is the tough road conditions when transporting long timber. Roads where there are no shoulders, with ditches on either side. We even had to construct bits of road with a tamped-down mixture of mud and marsh. We expected roads to freeze and turn into ice, super slippery. It’s a bit like riding motocross with heavy equipment! The extreme conditions are also a big challenge. Once, on the way to James Bay, the truck broke down because the temperature had been -55 degrees Celsius two nights in a row. It’s hard on the equipment. You have to be resourceful.

What’s your best memory so far?camion transportant du bois  Bobby CHARGEMENT HORS ROUTE 2 1

There’s plenty of little moments that boost the ego. For example, there were about 40 trucks emptying an area worked by ​​2 shovels. Half the group was supposed to be at one shovel and the other half at the 4-73 shovel. Well finally, out of 80 drivers, only 5 of us were able to get up to the 4-73 shovel. You have to know what you’re doing, because off-road transport is three times the weight of a normal truck. You have to be able to pull off a controlled skid.

A positive aspect of being a trucker?

The people you meet and the scenery in Western Canada, the Maritimes or in the South.

A negative aspect?

The schedules! You can be away for a long time and your family pays the price . . . It can be hard on morale, you have to be made for it. With off-road transport, you’re not gone as long, but you have to repair your truck, so you are often in the garage. It’s a difficult life for a family.

Do you have any advice for beginners?

I drove trucks in the most difficult forest conditions, a sector where you have to make your place and prove yourself. Let’s just say you’re far from the movies with great country music. You have to have nerves of steel and adapt to conditions. In a harsh environment like the forest, you have to be aware of your responsibility to others and their safety. There’s no trial and error, so you have to know your calls and roads really well. You have to be resourceful, prepared and able to learn on the job, like working on your equipment at –35. With off-road conditions, you often don’t have a choice. It’s important to be curious and not afraid to ask questions.

camion transportant du bois  Bobby CHARGEMENT HORS ROUTE 1

Now with Gamache, the challenges are different and this suits Bobby fine. The adrenaline from the forest roads is part of his personality and his life. Nothing can replace being in the field and the strong emotions it generates.

Thanks, Bobby!

Get a taste of off-road driving: www.youtube.com

Leave a Response

share on:

Bobby Bergeron, coordonnateur marketing pour le groupe Gamache, baigne dans l’industrie du camion depuis qu’il a 14 ans.

Nostalgique de ses belles années passées à travailler dans le Nord, il a bien voulu piquer un brin de jasette avec nous! Voici un compte-rendu de notre incursion dans l’univers des camions lourds et des souvenirs de Bobby, un vétéran de la conduite hors route.

L’industrie du camion n’a plus de secret pour toi… Qu’est-ce qui t’a donné envie de devenir camionneur?

Je crois que, comme tous les petits gars, je rêvais en voyant les gros camions. Et j’ai eu la chance de les côtoyer bien jeune. Quand j’avais 11 ans, le chum de ma mère travaillait avec de l’équipement lourd dans le bois. Les enfants jouaient avec des Tonka, mais moi je les voyais en vrai et j’embarquais dedans! J’ai grandi en voyant les camions venir chercher du bois. Ça pas été long que je les conduisais et que je travaillais là-dedans! Je conduisais hors route pour transporter le bois en forêt.

AHDD7T Painet jl7286 logging truck winter road 5 hauling logs wide load snow scene rural saskatchewan canada industries travel  Bobby CHARGEMENT STANDARD 1

 Quand tu commences si jeune, comment ça se passe avec les autres camionneurs?

T’es un peu comme la mascotte. Les camionneurs trouvaient ça drôle. Au début, tu fais pas mal de petites jobines, l’entretien et la petite mécanique comme les changements d’huile. T’as pas le choix d’apprendre sur le tas, puis, tranquillement, t’as plus de responsabilités. Je charriais de la gravelle et, à 18 ans, j’ai commencé sur la route.

Quel est le plus gros défi d’un camionneur?

Ça dépend du secteur dans lequel tu travailles. Le transport d’aliments en Californie par exemple, c’était moins mon genre. Dans mon secteur, les chemins forestiers n’ont rien à voir avec les routes d’asphalte et sont beaucoup plus difficiles. Le plus gros défi, c’est la condition difficile des routes pour le transport du bois en longueur. Des chemins où il n’y a pas d’accotement, des fossés de chaque côté. Fallait même faire des bouts de route avec une espèce de mélange de boue et de marécage qu’on tapait. On attendait que ça gèle et ça devenait de la glace, super glissant. C’est un peu comme faire du motocross avec de l’équipement lourd! Les conditions extrêmes aussi sont un gros défi. Une fois, sur le chemin de la Baie James, le truck a cassé parce que ça faisait deux nuits en ligne qu’il faisait -55 degrés Celsius. C’est dur sur la mécanique! Il faut sortir sa débrouillardise!

CHARGEMENT HORS-ROUTE (2) (1)  Bobby CHARGEMENT HORS ROUTE 2 1C’est quoi ton plus beau souvenir à ce jour?

C’est plein de petits moments qui flattent notre égo. Par exemple, y’avait environ 40 camions qui vidaient un secteur de 2 pelles. Un groupe était supposé être à une pelle et l’autre moitié à la pelle 4-73. Et bien finalement, sur 80 chauffeurs, on est seulement 5 chauffeurs qui ont été capables de monter à la pelle 4-73. Il faut être habitué parce que faire du transport hors route c’est 3 fois le poids d’un camion normal, faut être capable de faire du dérapage contrôlé.

Un point positif à être camionneur?

Les rencontres que tu fais et aussi tous les paysages, autant dans l’Ouest canadien que les Maritimes ou dans le Sud.

Un point négatif?

Les horaires! Tu peux être parti pendant longtemps alors la famille prend le bord… Ça peut être dur pour le moral, il faut être fait pour faire ça. Avec le transport hors route, t’es parti moins longtemps, mais t’as des réparations à faire sur ton truck donc t’es souvent dans ton garage. C’est un style de vie difficile pour une famille.

As-tu des conseils à donner à ceux qui commencent?

Moi, j’étais camionneur dans des conditions forestières plus difficiles, un secteur où il faut prendre sa place et surtout faire ses preuves. Mettons qu’on est loin des films avec la belle musique country. Il faut avoir les nerfs solides et y aller selon les conditions. Dans un milieu dur comme dans le bois, il faut être conscient de sa responsabilité par rapport aux autres et leur sécurité. Il n’y a pas d’essais-erreurs donc il faut bien connaître ses calls et les routes. Il faut être débrouillard, préparé et être capable d’apprendre sur le tas, comme faire de la mécanique à — 35. Les conditions hors route souvent, t’as pas le choix! C’est important d’être curieux et de ne pas avoir peur de poser des questions.

CHARGEMENT HORS-ROUTE (1)  Bobby CHARGEMENT HORS ROUTE 1

Maintenant chez Gamache, les défis sont différents et Bobby s’y plaît très bien. L’adrénaline qu’il a vécue sur les routes forestières fait partie intégrante de sa personne et de sa vie. Rien ne peut remplacer une présence sur le terrain et les grandes émotions qu’ont y vit!

 

Merci Bobby!

Petit apperçu de la conduite hors route : www.youtube.com

Leave a Response